The Dance For Life Ball – Another Dance Adventure!

This weekend included another dance adventure for Roomie and me! We volunteered at the Dance for Life Ball, put on by the CBZ Foundation.  The CBZ Foundation is “a not-for-profit organization formed with the vision of helping youth dancers and those with disabilities pursue their education and competitive Dancesport goals.” It was formed in honor of Connor Bishop Zion, who was a latin and ballroom competitive dancer until he passed away at the young age of 21.

The Dance for Life Ball was a charity event for the Foundation, and I believe it was the first they had hosted. For 150 tax-deductible dollars, you got dinner, dancing, performances, and special appearances by ballroom celebrities. AND you got to be greeted by myself and Roomie since we were the ones checking people in and handing out programs. Pretty awesome, right? I’ll let the poster do the name dropping for me.

Continue reading

Practice, Practice, Practice!

I mailed my entry forms for USDC!  Hotel is reserved, flights are booked.  No turning back now!

I'm mailing a check for how much??  I can't watch.

I’m mailing a check for how much?? I can’t watch.

With just under 5 weeks to go, I’m carefully managing my mindset so it doesn’t turn all dark and negative and anxiety-ridden.  I know myself, so I know I’ll freak out at some point.  But it’s ok. USDC will be my first competition at which I dance silver.  Might sound a little crazy, entering the silver level for the first time at Nationals.  But Teacher believes I can do it, and I am getting a test run at a team match in two weeks.  I’m doing my best to ignore the fact that I still don’t know all of the steps in my silver routines.  Trying to stay positive, I focus on the fact that I am making progress at every lesson. And I can follow the steps when I dance with Teacher. And there are still 5 weeks to go.  Or is it only 5 weeks??

Continue reading

I Line Danced My Heel Off. Literally!

In honor of National Dance Day, a quick post about another dance adventure Roomie and I went on last weekend! This time, it was a country music festival held at a restaurant/bar. You wouldn’t guess it from the outside, but the place has a big stage and dancefloor in the middle of it. Now, I am not a fan of country music. And line dancing is…ok.  Just not really my thing.  Roomie is more the hard core fan.  Despite those facts, I had fun!  I mean, it’s hard to not have fun when you’re surrounded by live music and positive energy and people dancing.  Just my opinion.

She was country and I was more rock 'n roll.

She was country and I was more rock ‘n roll.

Continue reading

At What Point Can You Call Yourself a “Dancer”?

I think I’m going through a little ballroom withdrawal. It’s been weeks and weeks since I took a group class. My last few private lessons were a week apart due to Teacher going to comps or having other scheduling conflicts. And I haven’t been going to the studio to practice. I have all sorts of excuses, including the fact that I’m still doing things at home like the journey to splits challenge. I used to practice before and/or after group class. It worked well for me. But now that I’m not taking group, I find it’s hard to motivate myself to go to just practice on my own. This is why I fail at being a gym member. I’m much more likely to go if there is a class or something where I have other people to support me and hold me accountable. But going by myself to work by myself? I feel like I may as well save the gas and stay at home. This withdrawal coupled with anxiety over USDC and reading online how often others practice or have private lessons has me once again pondering a question my demons obsessively taunt me with: at what point can I call myself a dancer?
Continue reading

Reflection: False Summits Part 2

Sometimes I go back and reread old blog posts because the same issues come back to pester me again and again. This one from the Uphill Factor seemed to fit the pestering thoughts today.

http://wp.me/p2KMQ9-d5

I’m fighting this fear of never being “good enough” even though I don’t really know what that means. Good enough for what?? I’m trying so many things right now to reshape my brain into a more positive thinking entity. Less focus on the fear and doubt. But the hilarity is sometimes I think “shit, what if I fail at all these things?” How’s that for special? I’m focusing on the possibility of failure in attempts to be more positive. But what my old post linked above reminded me was I am trying, I’m not giving up, and that should make me “good enough,” no matter the final outcome. So even if months from now, I’m still as cynical as ever in my thinking, at least I tried to absorb more unicorns and rainbows! I’m giving it my best shot and that counts for something.